### **AGENDA - PUBLISHED**



## CONTRA COSTA COUNTY Mental Health Commission

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

3:30 PM

1340 Arnold Drive, Suite 126, Martinez

https://zoom.us/j/5437776481 Meeting number: 543 777 6481 | Call in: 1 669 900 6833 | Access code: 543 777

6481

#### **Executive Committee**

The Committee will provide reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities planning to attend the Committee meetings. Contact the staff person listed below at least 72 hours before the meeting. Any disclosable public records related to an open session item on a regular meeting agenda and distributed by the County to a majority of members of the Committee less than 96 hours prior to that meeting are available for public inspection at 1340 Arnold Drive, Suite 126, Martinez, during normal business hours. Staff reports related to items on the agenda are also accessible on line at www.contracosta.ca.gov. Public comment may be submitted via electronic mail on agenda items at least one full work day prior to the published meeting time.

For Additional Information Contact: Angela Beck (925) 313-9553

- I. Call to Order, Roll Call and Introductions
- II. Public comments on any item under the jurisdiction of the Committee and not on this agenda (speakers may be limited to two minutes).

In accordance with the Brown Act, if a member of the public addresses an item not on the agenda, no response, discussion, or action on the item will occur, except for the purpose of clarification.

- III. Commissioner comments on any item under the jurisdiction of the Committee and not on this agenda (speakers may be limited to two minutes).
- IV. Chair Announcements
- V. APPROVE minutes from the March 26th, 2024, Executive Committee Meeting
- VI. UPDATE Mental Health Commission (MHC) Membership List and Committee

  Roster

  24-1230

**Attachments:** AttA MHC members 2024

AttB\_MHC Committee assignments

VII. ANNOUNCE Vice-Chair and Executive Committee nomination list

24-1231

Attachments: AttC SPECIAL Election May 2024

- VIII. UPDATE Status of 2024 MHC Bylaw revisions
- IX. DISCUSS Ad hoc committee for MHC/AOD (Alcohol and Other Drugs) integration effective January 1, 2025
- X. DISCUSS MHC Training Module 1 (prior to) June 5 Commission meeting
- XI. DISCUSS Presentation to the Board of Supervisors (BoS) in May for Mental Health Awareness Month
- XII. DISCUSS 2024 MHC Committee Goals/Action Items
  - \*Justice Systems Committee –
  - \*MHC Finance Committee Cmsr. Tavane Payne/Laura Griffin
  - \*Quality of Care Committee Cmsr. Barbara Serwin
- XIII. DETERMINE May 1, 2024 MHC meeting agenda:
  - \* Meeting Conduct Agreement
  - \* CHAIR COMMENTS / ANNOUNCEMENTS
  - \* VOTE on Emergency Circumstance Cmsr. Shires
  - \* RECEIVE Presentation by Daniel Becker, MD, Vice Chair of Adults Services, UCSF on the model of care at Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital, SF
  - \* UPDATE on Ad hoc committee re: MHC/AOD integration effective January 1, 2025
  - \* UPDATE on the Presentation to the Board of Supervisors (BoS) in May for Mental Health Awareness Month
  - \* RECEIVE MHC Committee updates
  - \* Quality of Care Committee Cmsr. Barbara Serwin
  - \* Justice Systems Committee Cmsr. Tavane Payne/Laura Griffin
  - \* MHC Finance Committee Cmsr. Tavane Payne
  - \* VOTE on Vice-Chair and Executive Committee open positions

The next meeting is currently scheduled for Tuesday, May 28th @ 3:30pm

XIV. Adjourn



# **CONTRA COSTA COUNTY**

1025 ESCOBAR STREET MARTINEZ, CA 94553

## Staff Report

File #: 24-1230 Agenda Date: 4/23/2024 Agenda #: VI.

Advisory Board: Mental Health Commission - Executive Committee

Subject: UPDATE Mental Health Commission (MHC) Membership List and Committee Roster

Presenter: Angela Beck

#### UPDATE Mental Health Commission (MHC) Membership List and Committee Roster

- A. Mental Health Commission Members 2024
- B. Mental Health Commission Committee Roster (Updated)

### **MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION 2024**

Name	District	Position	Appointed	Expires		
Gina Swirsding	I	Seat #2	8/8/2017	6/30/2026		
Geri Stern	I	Seat #3	8/8/2017	6/30/2026		
Y'Anad Burrell	I	Seat #1	5/14/2024	6/30/2026		
Barbara Serwin	II	Seat #2	9/13/2016	6/30/2025		
Dr. Rhiannon Shires	II	Seat #3	9/14/2021	6/30/2024		
VACANT	II	Seat #1		6/30/2025		
VACANT	III	Seat #2				
Sani Momoh	III	Seat #3	3/19/2024	6/30/2025		
Gerthy Loveday Cohen	III	Seat #1	6/7/2022	6/30/2025		
Tavane Payne	IV	Seat #2	4/26/2022	6/30/2024		
Vanessa Rogers	IV	Seat #3	10/03/2023	6/30/2025		
Jenelle Towle	IV	Seat #1	2/25/2024	6/30/2024		
Laura Griffin	V	Seat #2	2/25/2020	6/30/2025		
VACANT	V	Seat #3				
Contesa Tate	V	Seat #1	2/27/2024	06/30/2024		
Representatives from the Board of Supervisors:						
Supv. Ken Carlson Representative	IV					

VACANT

Alternate Representative

#### NOTE:

Seat #1 = Member-at-Large

Seat #2 = Consumer

Seat #3 = Family Member

### **MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION 2024**

Name	District	Position	Appointed	Expires		
Gina Swirsding	I	Seat #2	8/8/2017	6/30/2026		
Geri Stern	I	Seat #3	8/8/2017	6/30/2026		
Y'Anad Burrell	I	Seat #1	5/14/2024	6/30/2026		
Barbara Serwin	II	Seat #2	9/13/2016	6/30/2025		
Dr. Rhiannon Shires	II	Seat #3	9/14/2021	6/30/2024		
VACANT	II	Seat #1		6/30/2025		
VACANT	III	Seat #2				
Sani Momoh	III	Seat #3	3/19/2024	6/30/2025		
Gerthy Loveday Cohen	III	Seat #1	6/7/2022	6/30/2025		
Tavane Payne	IV	Seat #2	4/26/2022	6/30/2024		
Vanessa Rogers	IV	Seat #3	10/03/2023	6/30/2025		
Jenelle Towle	IV	Seat #1	2/25/2024	6/30/2024		
Laura Griffin	V	Seat #2	2/25/2020	6/30/2025		
VACANT	V	Seat #3				
Contesa Tate	V	Seat #1	2/27/2024	06/30/2024		
Representatives from the Board of Supervisors:						
Supv. Ken Carlson Representative	IV					

VACANT

Alternate Representative

### NOTE:

Seat #1 = Member-at-Large

Seat #2 = Consumer

Seat #3 = Family Member

#### **MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION 2024**

#### **Committee Membership Roster:**

# MHC Executive\* (Quorum 3) Chair - Laura Griffin, District V Vice-Chair - Cmsr. , District Cmsr. Tavane Payne, District IV Cmsr. Barbara Serwin, District II Cmsr. Gina Swirsding, District I MHC Finance (Quorum) Chair – Cmsr. Tavane Payne, District IV Cmsr. Gina Swirsding, District I Cmsr. Contesa Tate, District V Cmsr. Jenelle Towle, District IV? MHC Justice Systems (Quorum 3) Chair – Cmsr. , District Cmsr. Gerthy Loveday Cohen, District III Cmsr. Tavane Payne, District IV Cmsr. Geri Stern, District I Cmsr. Jenelle Towle, District IV? MHC Quality of Care (Quorum 3) Chair – Cmsr. Barbara Serwin, District II Cmsr. Vanessa Rogers, District IV

Vice-Chair - Cmsr. Laura Griffin, District V

Cmsr. Rhiannon Shires, District II

Cmsr. Gina Swirsding, District I

New Commissioners unassigned Cmsr. Sani Momoh, District III Cmsr. Y'anad Burrell, District I

<sup>\*</sup> Does not count toward committee participation



# **CONTRA COSTA COUNTY**

1025 ESCOBAR STREET MARTINEZ, CA 94553

## Staff Report

File #: 24-1231 Agenda Date: 4/23/2024 Agenda #: VII.

Advisory Board: Mental Health Commission - Executive Committee

Subject: ANNOUNCE Vice-Chair and Executive Committee nomination list

Presenter: Cmsr. Laura Griffin

ANNOUNCE Vice-Chair and Executive Committee nomination list

C. Voting Slate for Vice-Chair and Executive Committee candidates

## Slate for Mental Health Commission 2024 SPECIAL ELECTION

(Names listed in alphabetical order)

# Vice Chair:

ONE candidate out of whoever is not elected for Chair:

- Tavane Payne
- Rhiannon Shires

# **Executive Committee:**

- •
- •

Possibly one available position on the Executive Committee