SEAL OF THE SEAL O

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

Committee Meeting Minutes - Draft

Advisory Council on Aging

Wednesday, April 2, 2025

10:00 AM

400 Ellinwood Way, Pleasant Hill Room 303

Executive Committee

|Link:| https://cccounty-us.zoom.us/j/82285207490?

pwd=ylPtOiocXN7E2W12dfn13N9OCR8XuW.1 | Password: 707022 | Dial-in: USA 214 765 0478 USA 8882780254 (US Toll Free) | Conference code: 698779 | ID 822 8520 7490 |

PUBLIC ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS:

The public may attend this meeting in person at the above location. The public also may attend this meeting remotely via Zoom or call-in. Login information and call-in information is provided above. Remote attendance of this meeting is being held at the following locations: 324 El Divisadero Ave., Walnut Creek; 3014 Grey Eagle Dr., Walnut Creek; 28 Orinda Way, Orinda, 150 S 45th St., Richmond

10:00 Call to Order: Jim Donnelly

Introductions:

Roll Call:

Present James Donnelly, Candace Evans, Michelle Hayes, Jill Kleiner,

Steve Lipson, Julie Ortega, Logan Robertson, Terri Tobey, Lorna

Van Ackeren, and Michael Wener

Absent Kevin Donovan, and Shirley Krohn

10:02 Approve March 2025 draft minutes

EX.03.05.25DraftMinutes

25-1210

Attachments: EX.03.05.25DraftMinutes

Motion: Robertson Second: Evans

Aye: Donnelly, Evans, Hayes, Kleiner, Lipson, Ortega, Robertson,

Tobey, Van Ackeren, and Wener

Absent: Donovan, and Krohn

Result: Passed

10:10 Area Agency on Aging Report: Tracy Murray, AAA Director and/or Alicia Espinoza, AAA Program Manager

Area Plan Update 25-26 to be submitted to CDA 5/1/25.

Senior Nutrition RFP timeline were shared. Efforts were made to recruit Executive Committee members for RFP review panels early May 2025.

ACOA meeting Calendar was developed to outline dates for timely publishing of ACOA agendas.

Age Friendly Campaign to launch FY 25-26. Efforts were made to recruit Executive Committee members focus group participants of the campaign.

ACOA webpage update - Kevin Balderston (Information Systems Specialist III, CCC) showcased improvements being made to webpage. ACOA Annual Report and ACOA committees/workgroups to be linked.

2025 ACOA Meeting Schedule

25-1211

Attachments:

2025 ACOA Meeting Schedule

10:30 President's Report: Jim Donnelly

ACOA Bylaws approved by the Board of Supervisors.

Seat on the Contra Costa Food Security Collaborative has been secured.

Bylaws 25-1212

Attachments: ACOA Bylaws 2024 Final (from BOS agenda)

10:40 Committee Reports:

Membership & Nominating Committee - Julie Ortega/Logan Robertson

Interviewed Brock Dubbels: potential MAL #12.

Sharon Maxwell to be approved as MAL #8 by BOS 4/28/25.

Three (3) interviews next meeting.

City seat openings: Pittsburg, San Pablo, San Ramon, Clayton Antioch, Brentwood are open. Alt 1,2,3,4 open.

Planning Committee - Jill Kleiner

Met 4/1/25.

Reviewed finance slide on ACOA Orientation PowerPoint presentation.

Debriefed on focus group revisitations. All groups have been very successful.

Next on focus group re-visitation will be at Monument Crisis Center.

Housing Committee Kevin Donovan

No updates were provided as the housing chair was absent.

Health Workgroup - Terri Tobey

Angela Irving - Community Engagement and Coordinator to give overview of Family Caregiver Alliance and 2025 goals.

Thomas Lang lining up speaking engagements on Osteoporosis and bone health in the community.

Brian O'Toole is presenting at Rossmoor providing education around Medi-cal.

Legislative Workgroup and California Senior Legislature Update - Steve Lipson for Shirley Krohn

SB4 239 - Supported by C4A.

SB239 - Hearing is today. Requires purchasing file conference gear and translating.

Technology Workgroup - Steve Lipson

AI possibilities are becoming endless in providing education to older adults on these advancements is needed now more than ever.

Senior Mobility Action Council (Transportation Workgroup) - Candace Evans

Met 4/7/25

Glydways presented their developing system of autonomous vehicles.

Glydways is providing accessible and efficient driverless vehicles for older adults and people with disabilities.

11:05 Break

11:10 Future Meeting Presentations:

CCTA and Guaranteed Income Program - April Mental Health (Elder Wellness Coalition) - May Elder Abuse Prevention (Family Justice Center)/APS - June Justice in Aging plus HICAP - August MX providers - September or October

11:20 Consent Items:

Recommend Brock Dubbels for MAL seat #12

This was approved.

Motion: Ortega Second: Kleiner

Aye: Donnelly, Evans, Hayes, Kleiner, Lipson, Ortega, Robertson,

Tobey, Van Ackeren, and Wener

Absent: Donovan, and Krohn

Result: Passed

11:25 Public Comment:

Jill commented that Dick Morrison was on leave.

Next Executive Committee Meeting is scheduled for May 7, 2025, 10: am - 12 pm.

12:00 Adjourn:

The meeting adjourned at 11:48 pm.

The Committee will provide reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities planning to attend the committee meetings. Contact the staff person listed below at least 72 hours before the meeting. Any disclosable public records related to an open session item on a regular meeting agenda and distributed by the county to a majority of members of the committee less than 96 hours prior to that meeting are available for public inspection at 300 Ellinwood Way, Pleasant Hill during normal business hours. Public comment may be submitted via electronic mail on agenda items at least one full work day prior to the published meeting time.

For additional information contact: Alicia Espinoza 925-655-0771 or aespinoza@ehsd.cccounty.us

HOW TO PROVIDE PUBLIC COMMENT:

Persons who wish to address the committee during public comment on matters within the jurisdiction of the committee that are not on the agenda, or who wish to comment with respect to an item on the agenda, may comment in person, via Zoom, or via call-in. Those participating in person should speak when called upon by the chair. Those participating via Zoom should indicate they wish to speak by using the "raise your hand" feature in the Zoom app. Those calling in should indicate they wish to speak by pushing * 9 on their phone. All public comments will be limited to 2 minutes per speaker.