SEAT OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PR

Meeting Minutes - Draft

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY Hazardous Materials Commission

Thursday, June 27, 2024

4:00 PM 025 Escobar St., Martinez, CA 94553 - Room 110 A/B/C

Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/93502466349

Phone: 1 (669) 900-6833 Meeting ID: 935 0246 6349

1. Roll Call and Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 4:15pm on June 27th, 2024.

Present Soheila Bana, Tim Bancroft, Marielle Boortz, Fred Glueck,

Andrew Graham, Lisa Martell, Jim Payne, and Jamin Pursell

Absent Terry Baldwin, Maureen Brennan, Ronald Chinn, Peter Cloven,

Mark Hughes, Madeline Kronenberg, Kenneth Luther, Eduardo Martinez, Amy McTigue, Nick Plurkowski, Frank Qin, Kevin Ruano Hernandez, Gretchen Salter, Anthony Tave, Rohan Tyagi, Julian Vinatieri, Aaron Winer, Cesar Zepeda, and Brianne Zorn

Non-voting George Smith

2. Announcements from Staff to the Hazardous Materials Commission

Cameron Soo will no longer be supporting the commission. Matt Kaufmann and Breanna Lingenfelter will be staff to the commission in his place. Future Hazardous Materials Commissions will take place at a new location: 777 Arnold Dr. Martinez, CA. The COOPA permits are going through a revision and there are proposed new fees. As a result of the Grand Jury report released on June 11th, there are seven recommendations: 2 for the sheriff's department who is the administrator of the community warning system and 5 for the Board of Supervisors who indirectly oversees health services in the HazMat program.

3. Public comment on any item under the jurisdiction of the Committee and not on this agenda (speakers may be limited to two minutes).

No public comments were received from the public.

4. Approval of the April 25, 2024 Hazardous Materials Commission meeting minutes.

Motion: Payne Second: Boortz

Aye: Bancroft, Boortz, Glueck, Graham, Payne, and Pursell

Absent: Baldwin, Brennan, Chinn, Cloven, Hughes, Kronenberg,

Luther, Martinez, McTigue, Plurkowski, Qin, Ruano

Hernandez, Salter, Tave, Tyagi, Vinatieri, Winer, Zepeda, and

Zorn

Abstain: Bana, and Martell

Result: Passed

5. Approval of the May 23, 2024 Hazardous Materials Commission meeting minutes.

Motion: Payne Second: Graham

Aye: Bancroft, Boortz, Glueck, Graham, and Pursell

Absent: Baldwin, Brennan, Chinn, Cloven, Hughes, Kronenberg,

Luther, Martinez, McTigue, Plurkowski, Qin, Ruano

Hernandez, Salter, Tave, Tyagi, Vinatieri, Winer, Zepeda, and

Zorn

Abstain: Bana, Martell, and Payne

Result: Passed

6. Approval of the May 30, 2024 Hazardous Materials Commission meeting minutes.

Motion: Payne Second: Glueck

Aye: Bancroft, Boortz, Glueck, Graham, and Pursell

Absent: Baldwin, Brennan, Chinn, Cloven, Hughes, Kronenberg,

Luther, Martinez, McTigue, Plurkowski, Oin, Ruano

Hernandez, Salter, Tave, Tyagi, Vinatieri, Winer, Zepeda, and

Zorn

Abstain: Bana, Martell, and Payne

Result: Passed

- 7. A report was received from the Director of Hazardous Materials Programs (Nicole Heath).
- 8. A report was received from the Operations Committee and Planning and Policy Committee.

OLD BUSINESS

- 9a. A report was received regarding the AB 617 Working Group in Richmond-North Richmond-San Pablo.
- 9b. The Hazardous Materials Commission discussed the current roster of commissioners and associated committees.

NEW BUSINESS

- 10a. The Commission received a copy of the Safety Culture Assessment presentations made to the Industrial Safety Ordinance/Community Warning System Ad Hoc Committee on May 30, 2024.
- 10b. The Commission reviewed the Hazardous Materials Commission Priorities for Consideration for 2024.
- 11. Announcements were received from Hazardous Materials Commissioners.

Commissioner Payne announced the Cal OSHA Standards Board has approved an expedited rule making or inclusion of renewable fuels facilities in the California Refinery PSM standard.

12. Plan next meeting agenda.

The next meeting is currently scheduled for Thursday, July 25, 2024 at 4:00 PM.

13. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 5:49 pm.

